Loading...

Search This Blog

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Could A Beach Fee Be Coming Soon To LA?

Could A Beach Fee Be Coming Soon To Los Angeles?

Posted: Jan 15, 2013 4:31 PM PST <em class="wnDate">Tuesday, January 15, 2013 7:31 PM EST</em> Updated: Jan 15, 2013 5:28 PM PST <em class="wnDate">Tuesday, January 15, 2013 8:28 PM EST</em>

Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors meetings aren't usually big draws. But on Tuesday hundreds of people showed up over a proposed beach fee.

Fox 11 investigative producer Heidi Cuda, who attended the meeting, reports that while it's called a beach fee, it's really a tax that's supposed to help reduce stormwater.

Opponents say they're already paying for clean water -- and can't believe the county has the nerve to ask for more money.

It's not just businesses and property owners that would pay, but also school districts.

Under the proposal, LAUSD would pay almost five million dollars a year. Long Beach Unified School District would be charged more than $700,000. And the Boys and Girls Clubs would be hit with a $21,000 charge.

Even if you're not a property owner in the county, critics say the fee will be passed on to renters.

Proponents, meanwhile, say the fee, which is sponsored by the LA County Flood Control District, could generate about $275 million a year in revenue.

 

Could A Beach Fee Be Coming Soon To LA?

Posted on: Beverly Hills Real Estate-Beverly Hills Homes For Sale

No comments:

Post a Comment